Friday, February 25, 2011

Line and Texture


(I recommend that you copy and paste this link into the web address bar in a new window so that this instruction page is still available.)
Spend some quality time looking at the images at the top of the article.  Click on each image to enlarge the artist's work  Consider how the images were created.
Half-way down the Adobe page, there are some illustrations of the work and a link: “To learn techniques used in making this image, click here.” Click on this link and read the steps the artist goes through.

* (We will discuss all of this further as a class; however, it is basically made of brushes.) *

Once finished, you can do several things (keeping this artwork in mind):
  1. Begin a line drawing of a character/object. It is to be done on paper with dark pencil or ink. This could be an elaborated doodle, a new creation, a sketch of an object you have in front of you, or a drawing from a photo or image. (People make great subjects!) Keep it fairly simple and approximately half a page. *Important:  We are mainly focusing on LINES to capture the subject so consider differentiating line weight (thickness/thinness) to add more contrast and your subject will stand out as your center of interest. Definitely add your own personal style!
  2. Swipe File: Start collecting found images, patterns, textures, colours. Start by saving them in your file by right clicking the mouse and choosing "Save Image As..." We will also be looking for hardcopy items like this, but for today start looking online. You are looking for any images that interest you. Additionally, you are looking for samples of textures, patterns, and colours. Eg.’s:
  1. Start making a list of these same types of things that you can bring in from home to scan. (Eg. Cardboard, lace, patterned fabric). Starting to bring in these objects for next class would be a great idea!
We will be discussing project evaluation criteria, ideas, and Photoshop selection, line, and texture techniques to help you with this project throughout the week.  If you have any questions along the way, remember to do some research yourself before coming straight to me.  You have the world at your fingertips...

Student Examples:




Friday, February 11, 2011

Digital Signatures

Every artist needs a signature to sign their work.  Sometimes digital work can overlook this step as it isn’t as simple as picking up a pencil and signing.  However, digital work finds itself at higher risk of theft, duplication, and alteration due to the ease of posting it online. Digital signatures are one way of claiming your work as your own.

You are going to create a series of digital signatures in the form of brushes.  This will allow you to easily sign your work before posting it to your blog.  For internet safety purposes, you will create a personal “nickname” signature that will be used for any work posted online.  However, for printed work and your portfolio you will create signatures using your name.


For this assignment, you must create:

1.  Handwritten and Scanned: 3 using your initials; 2 using part/full signatures
2.  Photoshop text/fonts/creations: 3 using your initials; 2 using part/full signatures
3.  Choice: 1 for online signature of all posted work

Once all of your brushes have been created and SAVED to your H Drive, create a showcase document at 8” x 10” and 150ppi to display all of your signatures.  You will hand this in to me digitally.  Post ONLY your nickname signature to your blog.


Saving Brushes

Due to the setup of the school server, lab computers reset when you log out of your account.  It is very important to save the brushes you create to your H drive in order to access them again after.  You can do this by following these steps:

1.  On the arrow located on the right side of the option bar’s brush menu. 
2.  This will provide a list of options > click on “Save Brushes.”  
3.  Name and save the file within your H Drive.

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Smoothing Rough Edges

Adapted from teachtutorials.com  (click to follow tutorial with example imagery)

[1]- Start by saving and opening a merged COPY of your image that is to be smoothed.
          You must delete your background to isolate your image to be smoothed.
          Positive Negative Space Project:  Click Select Menu > Colour Range
          Use the eyedropper to click the background > click OK (this will select the background)
          Click Delete to discard your background
          Click Select > Deselect
[2]- Ctrl+Click on the single Layer in the layer palette.
[3]- Now click on the Channels window and create a new channel.
[4]- Fill the object with Alt+Backspace.
[5]- Now go to Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur and set the radius to 5.4 pixels.
[6]-Now go to Image>Adjustments>Levels and set the following 
          Input Levels : 139-1.00-160.
[7]- Ctrl+Click on the Alpha1 in the Channels window.
[8]- Now go back to the layer palette and create a new Layer2, and fill the object with 
          Alt+Bkspc.
[9]- Now make the original Layer1invisible by clicking the eye next to the layer.
[10]- Now your image has been smoothed and you’re done.  
          Save a COPY of your new file.

Sunday, February 6, 2011

Inside/Outside Self-Portrait (Positive/Negative Space)







Concepts:

Positive/Negative Space: In a two-tone, black-and-white image, a subject is normally depicted in black (positive space) and the space around it is left blank (white – negative space), thereby forming a silhouette of the subject.
Note: Reversing the tones so that the space around the subject is printed black and the subject itself is left blank causes the negative space to be apparent as it forms shapes around the subject.

Self-Portrait: a representation of an artist through visual media.  It can combine any of the following concepts: symbolism and/or literal representations of personality, hobbies, interests, life events, emotions etc.


Assignment:

To create a two-tone self-portrait using positive and negative space.  Using a photograph of yourself, you will create a positive space drawing (silhouette).  You are asked to add and subtract “space” to/from your portrait in the form of elements of art and imagery that illustrates who you are.

Requirements:

  • Portrait must be of you.
  • Minimum of 10 supporting elements (line and shape designs)/ images.
  • Must add and subtract positive/negative space to/from your portrait

Materials:

  • Self-Portrait and other found/collected imagery
  • Photoshop, Scanner

Considerations:

  • Dynamic poses that lead the eye around the composition (arms, legs, torso positioning)
  • Adding/placement of imagery that implies continuation of body (ex. tree/leg above.)
  • Play with idea of layering your positive/negative “space” and incorporating into the edges
  • Varying sizes of elements and imagery to create focal points and variation in the work.


Friday, February 4, 2011

Masking Mastery

Photoshop Masking Mastery Video:  Please post your group's assigned tutorial instructions as a comment on this post.

Title:  Masking Mastery: _________ Tool/Process (your assigned tool/process)
Group Members' Initials:
When to Use: (be specific to set aside from other tools/processes)
Instructions: